New South Wales - Great Southern Mainline Route)
Route design by Russell Beer


Total mainline trackage: ~170 km from south of Kapooka to Harden
Main stations: Wagga Wagga, Junee, Bethungra, Cootamundra, Demondrille, Harden.

Prototype Operator: New South Wales Government Railways and its successors


File download names and links

Complete Install: (single executable file:


Important Notes:

  1. Read "Additional Files Required" further down this page: you will require more files.


File Sizes

Single .EXE file:    151 MB (158,413,024 bytes)


Additional Files Required

  1. Xtracks 3.17 or higher
  2. Newroads 3.20 or higher


Tasks Required

  1. Download the file linked above;
  2. You must have all six default routes installed BEFORE running this installer. The routes just need to be present: they DO NOT need to be unstored if you use Trainstore, nor do you need to activate them if you use Route Riter's ON/OFF utility.
  3. You must have Xtracks 3.17 or higher installed.
  4. You must have Newroads 3.20 or higher installed.
  5. Run the installer by double-clicking on the EXE file.
  6. Allow the batch file to run to completion. If you do not see this batch file run in a DOS box, you most likely are a Vista or Windows 7 user. TURN OFF "User Account Control" (Start | Control Panel | User Accounts | Turn User Account Control On or Off); then right-click on the installme.bat file in the Route folder and set "Run As Administrator". The batch file should now run correctly.
  7. The first time you run this route, there will be a short delay as MSTS "generates terrain buffers" - this is a one-off and subsequent use of this route will load normally.



Grain crossing the Murrumbidgee River - screenshot by Mike West.

JUnee Roundhouse.